The Sacred and the Profane

Oh guys. The spiritual stupidity. I cannot even process an exchange I just had. 

Someone out of the blue reached out wanting me to “join forces” with them and “contribute” to their Wicans, Pagans, and Heathen RP. And no, I do not roleplay in any community anywhere online … so really I am utterly flabbergasted to have received the communication in the first place. *head desks*

For those who don’t know, RP stands for roleplay.

my response:

“That is counter to everything I stand for. Heathenry is about the sacred balance between humans and the numinous forces of the world: the Gods, the Vaettir, the Ancestors. Roleplay makes Them imaginary, makes Them not have power, and relegates Them to nothing more than fantasy, trapped in the cage formed by mortal minds. The Regin (Holy Powers) live and have power beyond our ken. So no, I have no interest in joining forces with you and your make pretend world that is a profanity to those powers.”

*bangs head on desk repeatedly*

This shouldn’t have to be said!

Leave a Reply

